About Us

History of ATLAS

ATLAS (Area Training for Library Administrators and Staff) was officially inaugurated in September, 2011, by adopting a set of bylaws. It grew out of Project Phoenix, a task force for succession of continuing education for library staff when Metropolitan Library System ran out of funding in 2008. Its predecessor, Zones 8 & 9, had a long history of joint programming and training.

ATLAS provides continuing education opportunities for all staff levels, from front line through administration as well as annual library trustee training. ATLAS also facilitates special projects such as geocaching in the summer and a directors’ discussion group on a monthly basis. ATLAS applied for and received an FEIN in the fall of 2013. ATLAS continues to develop with a growing membership.

Board Members

Sarah Cottonaro, President

Director, Alsip-Merrionette Park Public Library District

(708) 371-5666 | scottonaro@alsiplibrary.info

Christyn Rayford, Vice-President

Director, South Holland Public Library

(708)527-3104 | christyn@shlibrary.org

Jennifer Cutshall, Treasurer

Director, Steger-South Chicago Heights Public Library District

(708) 755-5040 | jenny@sschlibrary.org

Roberta Richter, Secretary

Business Manager, Green Hills Public Library District

(708) 598-8446 | rrichter@greenhillslibrary.org

Mary Adamowski, Board Member

Director, Orland Park Public Library

(708) 428-5202 | madamowski@orlandparklibrary.org

Amy Crump, Board Member

Director, Bellwood Public Library

(708) 547-7393 | crumpa@bellwoodlibrary.org

Dorothy Koll, Board Member

Director, Acorn Public Library

(708) 687-3700 | dkoll@acornlibrary.org